My Heart A Volcano

Jeremiah is a 27 year old man that comes down to the Firehouse a few times a week.  Recently, he’s come to read the Bible and discuss things on his mind.  His life is marked by pain, and his friends fuel his sorrow.  Please read a poem he shared with me, and pray that the love of Christ will pierce his heart.

MY HEART A VOLCANO

As my heart stirs with love, it cannot fly free
The pain seals it in.
My heart pushes outward, harder and harder
Yet the pain seals it in, tighter and tighter.
So thus the love begins to change to hate, more and more
And no longer do I feel much love, but only pain and hate.
Why must it be this way?  Why must I feel like sh-t?
Does nobody care?  Will nobody help?
My hearts mistakes are grave, but can nobody see past them
To show me love and fill the darkness within?
I fear the day that someone does, for on that day
My pain alone may chase them away.
And my chance at love with it.
I pray that someone hears my heart and saves me
Before it is too late.

Sincerely: Jeremiah

 

One Response to My Heart A Volcano

  1. Josh says:

    Hey Nate and Megan,

    Don’t know if this is helpful for Jeremiah or not, but his situation reminded me of a song called “I’m Sorry”. I don’t know if the lyrics are applicable to his individual situation, but I thought I’d send them anyway. I’ll def. pray for him. That’s awesome that you guys are ministering to him and all the others that come into the Firehouse! Keep up the great work!!!

    The memories replay in Your head
    What would have or should have or could have been done
    Regret latches on to You
    Accusing and confusing the truth

    It’s not your fault… let those words soak in

    I’m sorry you wake up still coping with the breaking of Your heart
    It’s ok to feel this way
    Press onward He’ll lift You up rely on His strength to pull You through
    Each day He will carry You

    Well time drags on and so do you
    As depression and aggression leave reality skewed
    The voices call out to you
    They blame you and maim you and leave you for dead

    It’s not your fault… let those words soak in

    I’m sorry you wake up still coping with the breaking of Your heart
    It’s ok to feel this way
    Press onward He’ll lift You up rely on His strength to pull You through
    Each day He will carry You

Leave a Reply

