LIFE Necklaces & Megan’s Thoughts

 

If you would like to buy a LIFE Necklace to support the Dekkengas in their adoption journey, you may do so 1) securely through Paypal by clicking HERE  2) mail payment to 2023 S. Dakota Ave., Sioux Falls, SD  57105 (checks payable to Seth Dekkenga) OR  3) contact us and get one from us personally if you’re in the area.

Life Necklaces are $20 each. Please include $2 for S/H for every 2 necklaces (1-$22; 2-$42; 3-$64; 4-$84…). On the checkout page, there is a field below the ‘Purpose’ where you can indicate the color(s) you would like by entering R, B, G, or M. If you want more than one necklace, please indicate how many of each color in the same box and enter the appropriate amount in the donation field.

You may click on the picture table to order the necklaces, or go to the Dekkenga Blog for more info.

picturetable

 

Megan has been deeply moved in the issues of life.  Please read her thoughts in the creation of these LIFE Necklaces:

I have a new mission in life: to live out James 1:27.  “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.”   Before I tell you about the details of the mission I want to introduce you to two very special people, Seth and Rebekah Dekkenga.  We met this couple two days after moving to Sioux Falls and have been so blessed by their friendship.  Rebekah and I started running together and that allowed me time to get to know her heart and it has challenged mine deeply.  I see  two  very important gifts in her: compassion and action.  I feel that most of us have compassion, but few of us have the action to live out compassion.  This is not true of Seth and Rebekah.  They spend most their time raising money for the poor and least of these.  This has challenged me, and I want to be a person of action, one whose faith does produce good works (James 2:14-26).

Seth and Rebekah have always had it in their heart to adopt from another country.  In the fall they felt like God was saying it was time.  This has taken them on a journey, which you can read in their blog : Dekkenga.wordpress.com.  The Lord led them to a 2 and a half year old boy in Libera, Africa named Clarence.  Currently, their only obstacle is finances.  There is something very wrong in our world when it costs around $500 to have an abortion but $25,000+ to adopt a child.  My heart has been breaking as I realize we do not value life.  John 10:10 reads, “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy: I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” More and more I am seeing that life has been stolen from our children, but I believe with all my heart that God wants to give them life, and life to the full.

In this process Seth and Rebekah spoke to some local churches that help financially with adoptions.  These churches couldn’t help them because they weren’t members of their congregations.   I was heartbroken.  The example that the early church gave us is: “they gave to anyone as he had need” Acts 2:45.  As all of this weighed heavy on my heart, the saying that kept coming to mind was, “now is the time for us to be the church.”     

I was in the prayer room asking the Lord to please make a way for this boy to be with his parents. We had a little money that we set aside to give them, but it was not much. I was trying to come up with things we could sell to make money, but as most of you know all we have left is our cat and our bed and I don’t know how much we would get for those!  Then I had a thought, what if I used the money we would give them to buy supplies and make necklaces to sell for them.  And that is what I have done.  I have made what we are calling the LIFE necklaces, they have a tree on them to represent life and James 1:27 is written on them. 

It is my mission to live out James 1:27: to take action and help those in need and to not be polluted by this world that is fading away.  We are selling the LIFE necklaces for $20.  All the money goes to the Dekkengas and for their baby boy Clarence.  Would you be a part of this story?  Would you step up and be the Church, allowing compassion and action to be united?

Leave a Reply

