Present-Tense God

Poem of reflection by Helen Mallicoat

I was regretting the past and fearing the future.
Suddenly, my Lord was speaking:
“My name is I AM.”  He paused.
I waited.  He continued,
“When you live in the past,
With its mistakes and regrets,
It is hard.  I am not there.
My name is not I WAS.”
“When you live in the future,
With is problems and fears,
It is hard.  I am not there.
My name is not I WILL BE.”
“When you live in this moment,
It is not hard.  I AM here.
My name is I AM.”

3 Responses to Present-Tense God

  1. Christine says:

    I know it might not be what you want or need right now given what’s going on, but I recently received a blog award and wanted to pass it on to you, since I’ve found your journey so far to be so inspiring. You can go to my blog and grab the image for it if you wish.

    Best of luck on your journey. My thoughts are with you and Dane.

  2. Christine says:

    PS: I’ve noticed that your blog doesn’t link you to commenters’ blogs automatically. My blog address is http://www.findingkirilsfamily.blogspot.com.

  3. Bret Engelkes says:

    I liked what this person was wanting to say, however…. “I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End,” says the Lord, “who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.”

    I hear what she’s saying, but God’s Word speaks clearer and truer. He is the God who is not confined by time, He’s the One who declares the End from the Beginning.

    Bless you guys, I love you dearly!

Leave a Reply

